the RAE gets a round tuit

I’ve never really understood what the “urgente” refers to in the title of the “Manual de Español Urgente”. If it was a quick guide, surely it would be manual urgente? So, under what circumstances would we be writing “urgent Spanish” and need to check whether we had the details right?

That said, La Fundación del Español Urgente (Fundéu BBVA), have brought out a new Spanish language guide which was launched yesterday, with the title “Escribir en internet: guía para los nuevos medios y las redes sociales”.

At the presentation, Joaquín Müller, director of the Foundation, said that the manual was aimed at:

“ese batallón de nuevos privilegiados que publica a diario en la Red”

I’m not sure I’ve ever thought of myself as a member of a nouveau- privileged battalion simply because I blog, tweet and post updates to Facebook every day, but I’m glad to know that there are now official guidelines for doing so in Spanish.

The report of the book launch in eleconomist.es, focuses on the comments by José Manuel Blecaua, director of the Real Academia Española, who announced the inclusion of the words tuitero, tuiteo, tuitear and, of course, tuit in the Diccionario académico.

As many of those reading this blog will know, “Tuits are hard to come by – especially the round ones.” Indeed, I used to have a rather nice ceramic one, but it broke, which is my excuse for getting so little done. If you’re looking for one, you’ll find dozens here.

I suppose, too, you could find one in the “Diccionario de la Lengua Española”. But I just did a search on-line and, perhaps unsurprisingly, they don’t seem to have included tuit yet. Maybe updating the dictionary isn’t urgente.

Author: don't confuse the narrator

Exploring the boundary between writer and narrator through first person poetry, prose and opinion

One thought on “the RAE gets a round tuit”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.